Freeze Your Account With the Discover Freeze it® Feature

Everyone loses a credit card at some point or another, and when it happens, you’re caught in a difficult situation. On the one hand, you may want to keep looking for it with hope it’ll turn up soon. But on the other, it’s a good idea to call your credit card issuer and report it lost.

The latter is the safer option, but it also means you’ll be without your card until it’s replaced, not to mention that you’ll have to update any automatic payments you’ve authorized with that card.

Thankfully, Discover cardholders have a third option — to freeze their accounts.

Discover It Card

Earn big‑time cash back that never expires.

How Freeze it® Works

Discover Freeze it® is an on/off switch that lets you freeze your account in seconds with the Discover mobile app or online to prevent new purchases, cash advances and balance transfers* if you misplace your card.

Discover cardholders can temporarily freeze their accounts at any time. When you freeze your account, Discover will not authorize new purchases, cash advances or balance transfers. However, some activity will continue, including bills that merchants mark as recurring, as well as returns, credits, dispute adjustments, payments, Discover protection product fees, other account fees, interest, rewards redemptions and certain other exempted transactions.

Your account number will not change, and you should continue to pay your bill and manage your account online or by using Discover’s mobile app.

How to Freeze and Unfreeze Your Account

To freeze your account, log in to your Discover account online and go to the Freeze Account screen. There, you can find a link to the page where you can freeze your account.Unfreezing your account is just as easy, and you can also access this functionality through Discover’s mobile app.

How Freezing Your Account Differs From Temporarily Deactivating a Card

In addition to the Freeze it® feature, Discover allows you to temporarily deactivate a card but other cards on the same account will still be active. Temporarily deactivating a card prevents its use for in-store purchases, but you can still use your account number for online and telephone purchases.

In contrast, freezing your account prevents it from being used at all—in-store, online and by phone. Also, while Freeze it® is activated, your account cannot be used for cash advances or balance transfers, and all cards on your Discover account will be frozen.

Whether freezing your account or temporarily deactivating a card, recurring payments will still be authorized, as will returns, credits and payments. And in both cases, you will still incur account fees and interest and be able to make rewards redemptions.

By understanding how your Discover card’s Freeze it® feature works, you have a convenient option the next time you can’t find your card.

Discover It Card

Sponsored

Earn big‑time cash back that never expires with Discover it®.

*When you freeze your account, Discover will not authorize new purchases, cash advances, or balance transfers. However, some activity will continue including bills that merchants mark as recurring, as well as returns, credits, dispute adjustments, payments, Discover protection product fees, other account fees, interest, rewards redemptions and certain other exempted transactions.

Legal Disclaimer: This site is for educational purposes and is not a substitute for professional advice. The material on this site is not intended to provide legal, investment, or financial advice and does not indicate the availability of any Discover product or service. It does not guarantee that Discover offers or endorses a product or service. For specific advice about your unique circumstances, you may wish to consult a qualified professional.

Up Next  

10 Reasons to Use Your Digital Wallet

Explore More Topics:

You Might Also Like...