Print
Text Size

Learn about freezing your Discover Card account.

 

When should I freeze my account?

Freeze your account if you temporarily misplace your card and don’t want to change your account number. It's easy to freeze or unfreeze your account in seconds both online and with our mobile app.

 

What happens when I freeze my account?

Freezing your account tells Discover that you don’t want us to authorize new purchases, cash advances or balance transfers until you unfreeze. A frozen account, however, still allows some activity, so you don't miss a merchant-indicated recurring bill payment that you pay with your Discover card. Other activity that will continue after you freeze includes returns, credits, dispute adjustments, payments, Discover protection product fees, other account fees, interest, rewards redemptions and other exempted transactions. Remember, your account number does not change when you freeze your account.

 

If I find my card, can I unfreeze my account?

Yes. You can unfreeze your account in seconds online or by mobile app or over the phone, so you can continue using your account as you did before you froze. Remember, your account number does not change when you freeze or unfreeze your account.

 

What do I do if I can't seem to find my card?

If you think your card is lost or stolen, please contact us immediately so we can send you new cards with a new account number. You can report a lost or stolen card via mobile app or at Discover.com. Or you can call us any time and one of our U.S.-based customer service agents will take care of it for you.

 

How often can I freeze my account?

You can freeze or unfreeze your account in seconds any time you like online or by mobile app or over the phone.

 

Where can I freeze my account?

You can freeze or unfreeze your account in seconds any time you like online or by mobile app or over the phone.

 

What is the difference between freezing an account and temporarily deactivating a card?

Freezing an account offers broader protection than temporarily deactivating a card.

When you temporarily deactivate a card:

  • You prevent in-store purchases at point-of-sale terminals
  • Only the card you choose is temporarily deactivated. Your account number can still be used for online and phone purchases.

When you freeze an account:

  • Your account cannot be used to make new purchases in-store, online and by phone
  • Your account cannot be used for cash advances
  • Your account cannot be used for balance transfers
  • All cards on your Discover account will be frozen

Whether freezing your account or deactivating a card, some activity will continue, including bills that merchants mark as recurring, as well as returns, credits, dispute adjustments, payments, Discover protection product fees, other account fees, interest, rewards redemptions and certain other exempted transactions.

Back to Top

Didn't find an answer to your question? Send us a Secure E-mail

Not a Cardmember? Apply Now